VOTE NOW FOR ALL YOUR FAVORITES FROM G.A. 2023 ×

Great Train Ride

29yrswithaGApass

It's a shame the park doesn't have a train ride anymore. I never even knew this ride existed before joining the site.

A train ride is the perfect example of a tranquil family ride that basically anyone can ride. The park is really lacking those type of rides and it would be nice to see a new train ride added along with antique cars.

I was really excited to finally get info on The Great Train Ride, I've been an member and engineer for the Pine Creek RR for 6 years and it was nice to see us mentioned in the spotlight. My one big question is, does anybody know where the 4 Locomotives are right now? Boneyard? Other Parks?

The Great Train is a ride that I was always anxious to feature in the Spotlight but we initially didn't have enough material to do it right so we put it off. I am glad we did because as you can see we were able to gather a pretty nice selection of material on the train ride. Besides, Christmas and miniature trains seem to go hand-in-hand! :)

The rolling stock for the ride remained in the maintenance yard for several years and it was rumored that the engines were being stored in the white bubble-like building in the boneyard. Unfortunately we haven't been able to confirm those rumors just yet.

Nice spotlight, I really wanted to see a spotlight about the trains since I never saw then. They are smaller than I thought they would be. It is sad they were removed but live steam is expensive, even the real railroads switched to diesel locomotives after WW2. That's why most theme park trains you see are usually internal combustion locomotives but disguised as steam locomotives such as the Cedar Creek RR at Dorney Park. This is a good example of a family type ride that GAdv is lacking so very much in.