VOTE NOW FOR ALL YOUR FAVORITES FROM G.A. 2023 ×

Speculating about 2009

There have been a few posts here and there around the Forums about 2009 so I thought we should probably have a topic to centralize the discussion. Nothing is known for sure now but we've all heard rumors and thought of some good (and wild) ideas. Please feel free to share yours here.

I'll start with a thought of mine, keeping in mind that I have no insider's knowledge or proof that this will happen but it's just a hunch. It seems Six Flags has been slighting Kentucky Kingdom recently by pulling key members of their management team and sending them to other parks. It also has its share of ride and section closures this year. In addition KK's operating calendar is a little strange this season with the park closing at the end of August, remaining closed in September, only to open for a few weekends in October. It is possible that the park may be closed or sold, but at the very least it doesn't appear that it is viewed as one of Six Flags core assets that will be the recipient of major funding in the future.

Given the parks small size and low attendance, I think Six Flags may now view Chang (a large and outstanding B&M stand-up coaster) as an underutilized asset. It was added to the park in 1997 so while it is a signature attraction at the park, I am sure after 11 years it has lost its drawing power for the small local population and would be viewed as major addition in another market.

I think it's possible it could make its way to Six Flags Great Adventure.

SFKKChang.jpg

The most likely new coaster would probablyy be a dive coaster which their are rumors that either SFGAdv or SFGAm will get it. I doubt SF would remove Chang if the park is being sold to a new owner who wants to still run the site as a park. Also they did add some things into SFKK this year like a new water side so SF wanting to get rid of KK seems less likely now.